• Institute activities
ICARE Chinese Co-dean Prof. Luo Xiaobing was elected 2018 IEEE FELLOW
Source: Release:2017-11-24 10:41:21 Writer: Hits:

On November 21st, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) released the list of fellows newly elected. ICARE Chinese Co-dean Prof.LUO Xiaobing was among the names on the list.

Since 2016, Prof.Luo Xiaobing has been the Chinese Co-dean of our Institute and this year, he was nominated as the Dean of School of Energy and Power Engineering. He is also a winner of the Distinguished Young Scholars Award of the National Natural Science Foundation of China and Chief Professor of National Classic Courses <<Engineering Heat Transfer>>. He obtained the 2016 IEEE CPMT Exceptional Technical Achievement Award and the Second-Grade Award of 2016 National Technology Invention (ranking No.2). He also obtained the First-Grade prize of Natural Science awarded by Hubei Province Government in 2015 (ranking No.1) and the First-Grade Prize of Technology Invention awarded by the Ministry of Education of China in 2015 (ranking No.2).

Prof.LUO has published 97 SCI Journal Papers as the first author or corresponding author among which 4 papers are highly cited papers including 1 hot paper. He has authored 4 English books/chapters and 1 Chinese book. He has granted 3 patents in USA and 29 patents in China as the first inventor, 3 patents of which have been successfully transferred for a total amount of 5 million Yuan. He successfully developed the internationally leading hydraulic suspension micro pump which has already achieved small-scale sales. He is the Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology and also the Associate Editor of ASME Journal of Electronics Packaging.

Prof. LUO was elected as IEEE Fellow for his outstanding contribution in optoelectronic device packaging and especially in thermal management.